ACL Festival – Suggestions from Mission, Part 4

We are so excited that the Austin City Limits Music Festival is upon us.  Starting this Friday, 130+ bands will take to the stages set up in beautiful Zilker park, providing 3 days of music and fun.  In honor of the festival, Mission Mortgage will be posting suggestions this week from various employees, past clients, partners and friends.  We will share information about the bands we are most looking forward to seeing, the food we can’t wait to enjoy, and even some memories of years past.  We hope you enjoy this series and we invite you to add your own suggestions to the comment section below. This is the last of our series of suggestions for this year’s festival.
Today’s recommendations come from Michael, Marketing Coordinator here at Mission Mortgage. Michael writes the blog, updates the website, manages our Facebook page, plans our events and listens to a LOT of music.

One of my absolute favorite things about living in Austin is the live music. Whether I’m listening to a local band at a small, hole-in-the-wall venue or a big label band at Stubb’s, I love the fact that living here makes listening to music so incredibly easy. This will by my fourth ACL – I haven’t missed one since I moved here.

On Friday, the bands I am most anxious to see are Angus & Julia Stone and Phish. But there are a number of other good bands that I’ll also be checking out. The Black Keys are back and I’m hoping to catch at least a part of their set. I’ll also listen to Amos Lee and Robert Randolph & the Family Band. I enjoy some Slightly Stoopid music, but I’ve seen them live twice and was disappointed both times…guess they are just better in the studio than on stage.  On Friday, I always try to get a Mighty Cone from Hudson’s on the Bend…the first year I went to ACL, they ran out by Sunday and I missed out because I waited.

My Saturday morning starts with Austin band Balmorhea, a down-beat classical group that has been haunting my iPod for the last few months. Two of the bands I most want to see on Saturday are overlapping, so I’ll try to catch a part of both Beats Antique and Broken Bells. I just have to check out Gogol Bordello because, well…it’s just so different. I’ll finish the night watching Muse. So many great new food vendors this year…Torchy’s Tacos, Wahoo’s and Bess Bistro will be vying for my food dollars on Saturday.

Sunday brings some interesting opportunities and I’ll be sure to catch Edward Sharpe and the Magentic Zeros, and The National. There’s a good chance that I’ll check out Band of Horses and maybe Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue and Gayngs. Nachos from Salt Lick and tacos from Guero’s are likely to be consumed. Lavaca St. Grill is offering hatch green chili cheese tots…surely those can’t be good for me, but can I really resist? I doubt it.

Looking back at past ACL festivals, my favorite memories are the bands I got to see for the first time…usually early in the morning. STS9 a few years back, early in the day on a smaller stage, changed my listening habits forever. Abigail Washburn blew me away a couple years ago playing banjo and singing in Chinese. The Black Keys, then Dan Auerbach, and now this year The Black Keys again. Good stuff, ACL.  I’ll see you at the festival.

About missionmortgage

A full-service professional mortgage banker providing lending in Texas for over 25 years. Our main office is located at 901 S. Mopac Expwy, Barton Oaks V- Suite 120, Austin, TX 78746 with branches in Lakeway, Houston, and Sealy. Mission Mortgage has been ranked as a Top 10 Mortgage Company in Austin for the past 7 years (Austin Business Journal).
This entry was posted in Austin Facts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

